Genetics & IVF Institute
COMPLAINANT
vs.
E.Z.O.F.
RESPONDENT
DECISION
FILE NO.: FA0003000094356
The above entitled matter came on for an administrative
hearing on May 18, 2000 before a panel of three arbitrators on the Complaint
of Genetics & IVF Institute ("Complainant"), represented
by Paul Devinsky, Esq., McDermott, Will & Emery, 600 13th
Street NW, Washington, D.C. 20005, against Etian Zviely and Oded Fisher,
d/b/a E.Z.O.F. (collectively "Respondent"), represented by
Matt. J. Railo, Esq., Mitchell Silberberg & Knupp LLP, 11377 West
Olympic Boulevard, Los Angeles, CA 90064. Upon the written submitted
record including the Complaint, the Response to Complaint, Complainants
Rebuttal to Respondents Reply to the Complaint, Respondents
Response to the Rebuttal and the Further Statements of each party (requested
by the panel), the following DECISION is rendered:
PROCEDURAL FINDINGS
U.S. Trademark Registration 2,049,707
Trademark: MICROSORT
U.S. Patent and Trademark Office
Trademark Registrant: Genetics & IVF Institute,
a Virginia corporation
Date of Registration: August 7, 1998
Domain Name: microsort.com
Domain Name Registrar: Network Solutions, Inc.
Domain Name Registrant: E.Z.O.F
Date of Domain Name Registration: March 30, 1998
Domain Name: micro-sort.com
Domain Name Registrar: Network Solutions, Inc.
Domain Name Registrant: E.Z.O.F.
Date of Domain Name Registration: November 4, 1998
Date Complaint Filed: March 23, 2000
Date Response to Complaint Filed: April 17, 2000. Filing
was timely.
After reviewing the complaint, and determining it
to be in administrative compliance, the National Arbitration Forum ("Forum")
forwarded the Complaint to the Respondent on March 27, 2000 in compliance
with Rule 2(a) and the administrative proceeding was commenced pursuant
to Rule 4(c). In compliance with Rule 4(d), the Forum immediately notified
Network Solutions that the administrative proceeding had commenced.
The Complainant elected to have this administrative proceeding conducted
by a three-arbitrator panel and paid the appropriate fee for same. The
Complaint, the Response, Complainants Rebuttal to Respondents
Reply to Complaint and the Objection of Respondent to Consideration
by the Panel of the Rebuttal, Respondents Response to the Rebuttal
as well as the Further Statements of each party requested by the panel
pursuant to Rule 12, were docketed and forwarded to each of the undersigned
arbitrators for decision.
FINDINGS OF FACT
- Neither the Complainant nor the Respondent contests the jurisdiction
of the Forum or the undersigned arbitrators to resolve this controversy.
- Complainant is the Genetics and IVF Institute, a Virginia corporation
with its principal place of business at 3020 Javier Road, Fairfax,
VA 22301. Respondent E.Z.O.F is an entity used for the purpose of
domain name registrations by Etian Zviely and Oded Fisher and has
18034 Ventura Blvd. 225, Encino, CA 91316 as its registered address.
- Complainant has been in the business of in vitro fertilization
and providing a means of sex selection for human babies since 1984
and is the exclusive licensee of the "microsort" sperm
sorting and separation process. Many examples of publicity concerning
the longstanding use of this process were attached to the Complaint.
- Respondent registered "microsort.com" as a domain on
March 30 of 1998 and, upon discovery of this fact, counsel for Complainant
sent a series of "cease and desist" letters to Respondent
enclosing copies of its trademark registration information and demanding
cancellation or transfer of said domain name.
- On September 16, 1998, Complainant filed a complaint with NSI
regarding microsort.com and on September 29, 1998, NSI placed the
domain name on "hold" pending resolution of the disputed
use. Respondent then registered micro-sort.com on November 4, 1998,
and Complainant has demanded that Respondent also cease and desist
from use of such domain name as being essentially identical or at
least confusingly similar to its trademark. The panel concurs that
microsort.com and micro-sort.com are identical or confusingly similar
to Complainants trademark.
- Respondent claims it had plans to use the microsort.com site in
connection with and "internet-based site for sorting search
results" but was stymied by the "hold" placed on
the site six months after registering the domain. It is unclear
whether Respondent pursued such plans with the micro-sort.com site.
The panel finds that Respondent has not shown any rights or legitimate
interests in respect to either microsort.com or micro-sort.com.
- Complainant has offered evidence that Respondent or its alias
has registered several hundred domain names, many with obvious pornographic
implications and many with slight misspellings of famous trademarks.
Note, for example, that "microsort.com" is a mere slip
of the left index finger from "microsoft.com."
- Respondent defends, in chief, on the theory that its initial registration
of microsort.com was in good faith, because it was unaware of Complainants
prior use and federal trademark registration of "MICROSORT."
Of course, micro-sort.com was registered months after Respondent
was well aware of the trademark. Because of this ignorance at the
time of the microsort.com registration, and Respondents interpretation
of Paragraph 4b. of the Policy, to the effect that bad faith must
be shown by Complainant both at the time of registration AND in
the use of the domain name, Respondent claims the right to prevail.
The panel disagrees.
- The panel finds that, from a totality of the circumstances in
this case, Respondent has both registered and used the domain names
microsort.com and micro-sort.com in bad faith. Paragraph 4b. of
the Policy provides examples of bad faith "without limitation."
Given the facts here, the panel is satisfied that the bad faith
element has been satisfied.
- The panel commends the excellent and creative legal work demonstrated
by counsel for both Complainant and Respondent in this proceeding.
CONCLUSION
The undersigned arbitrators certify that they have
acted independently and have no known conflict of interest to serve
on the arbitral panel in this proceeding. Having been duly selected,
and being impartial, the undersigned make the following conclusions:
- The domain names "microsort.com" and "micro-sort.com"
are identical or confusingly similar to Complainants trademark,
"MICROSORT."
- Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of
either of the registered domain names at issue.
- Respondent has registered and is using microsort.com and micro-sort.com
in bad faith.
DECISION
Based upon the above findings and conclusions, and
pursuant to Rule 4(i) of the ICANNs Rules for Uniform Domain Name
Dispute Resolution Policy and the National Arbitration Forums
Supplemental Rules to ICANNs Uniform Domain Resolution Policy,
it is decided as follows:
THE UNDERSIGNED DIRECT THAT THE DOMAIN NAMES "MICROSORT.COM"
AND "MICRO-SORT.COM," REGISTERED BY RESPONDENT E.Z.O.F, BE
FORTHWITH TRANSFERRED TO COMPLAINANT GENETICS & IVF INSTITUTE.
Signed this 19th May, 2000
___________________________
Hon. Richard DiSalle, Chairman
Rose Schmidt Hasley & DiSalle, P.C.
900 Oliver Building,
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
____________________________
Roderick M. Thompson, Esq.
Farella Braun & Martel, LLP
Russ Building, 30th Floor
235 Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94104
_____________________________
James A. Carmody, Esq.
Attorney & Arbitrator
5718 Westheimer, Suite 1010
Houston, TX 77057