MBS Computers Ltd. v Richard Workman aka Portable World Computers

Claim Number: FA0102000096632


The Complainant is MBS Computers Ltd., Surrey, BC, USA ("Complainant"). The Respondent is Richard Workman aka Portable World Computers, Richmond, BC, USA ("Respondent").


The domain name at issue is "" registered with Network Solutions.


The undersigned certifies that he or she has acted independently and impartially and to the best of his knowledge, has no known conflict in serving as a panelist in this proceeding.

Judge Ralph Yachnin as Panelist.


Complainant submitted a Complaint to the National Arbitration Forum (the "Forum") electronically on February 9, 2001; the Forum received a hard copy of the Complaint on February 13, 2001.

On February 13, 2001, Network Solutions confirmed by e-mail to the Forum that the domain name "" is registered with Network Solutions and that the Respondent is the current registrant of the name. Network Solutions has verified that Respondent is bound by the Network Solutions 5.0 registration agreement and has thereby agreed to resolve domain-name disputes brought by third parties in accordance with ICANN’s Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (the "Policy").

On February 14, 2001, a Notification of Complaint and Commencement of Administrative Proceeding (the "Commencement Notification"), setting a deadline of March 6, 2001 by which Respondent could file a Response to the Complaint, was transmitted to Respondent via e-mail, post and fax, to all entities and persons listed on Respondent’s registration as technical, administrative and billing contacts, and to by e-mail.

Having received no Response from Respondent, using the same contact details and methods as were used for the Commencement Notification, the Forum transmitted to the parties a Notification of Respondent Default.

On March 15, 2001, pursuant to Complainant’s request to have the dispute decided by a One Member panel, the Forum appointed Judge Ralph Yachnin as Panelist.

Having reviewed the communications records, the Administrative Panel (the "Panel") finds that the Forum has discharged its responsibility under Paragraph 2(a) of the Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (the "Rules") "to employ reasonably available means calculated to achieve actual notice to Respondent." Therefore, the Panel may issue its Decision based on the documents submitted and in accordance with the ICANN Policy, ICANN Rules, the Forum’s Supplemental Rules and any rules and principles of law that the Panel deems applicable, without the benefit of any Response from the Respondent.


The Complainant requests that the domain name be transferred from the Respondent to the Complainant.


A. Complainant

Complainant asserts that the domain name,, is very similar to Complainant’s NOTEBOOKCITY.COM mark. Also, Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in the disputed domain name. And finally, Respondent registered and used the domain name at issue in bad faith.

B. Respondent

Respondent has not submitted a response in this matter.


Complainant, MBS Computers, Ltd., purchased the rights to the "" mark in September of 1999 from Notebook City, Inc. a federally incorporated Canadian Corporation.

Respondent, Richard Workman a.k.a. Portable World Computers, is believed to be a disgruntled ex-employee of Notebook City, Inc. Respondent is not authorized or licensed to use the disputed domain name. To date, Respondent’s domain name is used to offer identical products and services as that of the Complainant.


Paragraph 15(a) of the Rules instructs this Panel to "decide a complaint on the basis of the statements and documents submitted in accordance with the Policy, these Rules and any rules and principles of law that it deems applicable."

In view of Respondent's failure to submit a response, the Panel shall decide this administrative proceeding on the basis of the Complainant's undisputed representations pursuant to paragraphs 5(e), 14(a) and 15(a) of the Rules.

Paragraph 4(a) of the Policy requires that the Complainant must prove each of the following three elements to obtain an order that a domain name should be cancelled or transferred:

(1) the domain name registered by the Respondent is identical or confusingly similar to a trademark or service mark in which the Complainant has rights;

(2) the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the domain name; and

(3) the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.

Identical and/or Confusingly Similar

Complainant’s rights are evidenced by its common law mark NOTEBOOKCITY.COM. See Smart Design LLC v. Carolyn Hughes, D2000-0993 (WIPO Oct. 18, 2000) (holding that ICANN Policy 4(a)(i) does not require Complainant to demonstrate ‘exclusive rights,’ but only that complainant has a bona fide basis for making the complaint in the first place).

The Panel finds that Respondent’s domain name,, is virtually identical to Complainant’s mark because the only difference is a hyphen has been inserted. See v. Tenenbaum Ofer, D2000-0075 (WIPO Apr. 27, 2000) ("The domain name ‘’ is identical to Complainant’s INFOSPACE trademark. The addition of a hyphen and .com are not distinguishing features"); see also CBS Broadcasting, Inc. v. LA-Twilight-Zone, D2000-0397 (WIPO June 19, 2000) (finding that putting a hyphen between words of the Complainant’s mark is identical to and confusingly similar to Complainant’ s mark).

Rights or Legitimate Interests

The Panel finds that Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in the domain name at issue because it is not commonly known by the domain name. See Nokia Corp. v. Private, D2000-1271 (WIPO Nov. 3, 2000) (finding that Respondent is not commonly known by the mark contained in the domain name where Complainant has not permitted Respondent to use the NOKIA mark and no other facts or elements can justify prior rights or a legitimate connection to the names "Nokia" and/or "wwwNokia").

Also, Respondent asserted no rights or legitimate interests in the disputed domain name, which entitles the Panel to conclude Respondent has no such rights or legitimate interests in the domain name. See Pavillion Agency, Inc. v. Greenhouse Agency Ltd., D2000-1221 (WIPO Dec. 4, 2000) (finding that "Respondents’ failure to respond can be construed as an admission that they have no legitimate interest in the Domain Names"); see also

Clerical Med. Inv. Group Ltd. v., D2000-1228 (WIPO Nov. 28, 2000) (finding that under certain circumstances the mere assertion by the Complainant that the Respondent has no right or legitimate interest is sufficient to shift the burden of proof to the Respondent to demonstrate that such a right or legitimate interest does exist).

Registration and Use in Bad Faith

The Panel finds Respondent had to have been aware of Complainant’s mark prior to registering the domain name at issue because Respondent was employed by the previous owner of the mark. See Reuters Ltd. v. Teletrust IPR Ltd., D2000-0471 (WIPO Sept. 8, 2000) (finding that the Respondent demonstrated bad faith where the Respondent was aware of the Complainant’s famous mark when registering the domain name as well as aware of the deception and confusion that would inevitably follow if he used the domain names); see also Twentieth Century Fox Film Corp. v. Risser, FA 93761 (Nat. Arb. Forum May 18, 2000) (finding that in determining if a domain name has been registered in bad faith, the Panel must look at the "totality of circumstances").

Moreover, Respondent registered the domain name at issue intentionally to create a likelihood of confusion with Complainant’s newly acquired mark. See Perot Sys. Corp. v., FA 95312 (Nat. Arb. Forum Aug. 29, 2000) (finding that given the similarity of the Complainant’s marks with the domain name, consumers will presume the domain name is affiliated with the Complainant …the Respondent is attracting Internet users to a web site, for commercial gain, by creating a likelihood of confusion with the Complainant’s mark as to the source, sponsorship, or endorsement of the Respondent’s web site); see also Luck's Music Library v. Stellar Artist Mgmt., FA 95650 (Nat. Arb. Forum Oct. 30, 2000) (finding that the Respondent had engaged in bad faith use and registration by linking the domain name to a web site that offers services similar to Complainant’s services, intentionally attempting to attract, for commercial gain, Internet users to its web site by creating a likelihood of confusion with the Complainant’s marks).


Having established all three elements required under ICANN Policy, the Panel concludes that the requested relief shall be and is hereby granted.

Therefore, it is Ordered that the domain name,, be transferred from Respondent to Complainant.


Ralph Yachnin, Panelist

Justice, Supreme Court, NY ( Ret.)

Dated: March 16, 2001


Click Here to return to the main Domain Decisions Page.

Click Here to return to our Home Page